Crafting Observations, Tips, Ideas

The Scary Big Launch

HandiCraftDesigners was officially launched many years ago as a website that held crafts a group of us thought up and made happen in our own lives. But maintaining a website proved to be a real time killer that took away from the crafting itself, so we, unfortunately, let it go.

A job change situation has caused me to rethink that decision. I have now been unemployed for 16 days and I am probably looking at another 18 days before I can truly call myself employed again. So what do I do with all that time? I want to pour my heart and soul into my crafts again! What else? I know of no better way to take my mind off the stress that is currently all around this job thing.

At first I argued with myself about the time and energy that would be involved. Seriously? I currently have nothing but time and nervous energy that desperately needs to be focused some place constructive. I mean, how many times can I manicure my lawn? My weeds are beginning to feel that they might lose this battle we have waged against each other for so long.

Second, I just know I am not ready… the best time to launch a blog is when you have 5000 followers… right? Or, when you have a terabyte of content ready to go live? And better still, all the good blogs have been taken!

And then there is maintaining it over the long haul… “when I go back to work I will never have time to take care of any of it.”

Then every motivational book, dvd, cd, blog post, and Facebook Live broadcast came rushing back into my head and I mean they rushed in fast! Not in some orderly fashion so that I had time to line up my excuses and shoot them down, but bam, bam, bam one right after the other! There they were…

“Follow your passion” they said. “If not now, when?” “Baby Steps” “No time like the present.” “Be uniquely you and don’t worry about how others do it.” “Start at the beginning.” “It takes what it takes to make it work.” “There are enough hours in the day.” “People find the time for their musts, but not their shoulds.” “Jump in with both feet.” “Allow yourself to start slow.” “Don’t worry if you do it wrong, you will learn as you go.”

And that was not all. They kept appearing before my eyes as I pulled up WordPress and started working on my blog. Of course, I had started it a couple of months earlier but had not published it because it was not perfect yet. “So what, I am going live today!” I said to myself. And I did!!!! Yep, I had an About section, a Contact section, still don’t have a logo or banner I’m madly in love with, but those will come with time. And most importantly, I had 2 articles I had written (1 was actually from that initial attempt a few weeks ago.) I posted them anyway and I went live!

Oh, I am scared! You bet your life I’m scared. As things stand now they are far from perfect. Yet, how many times in my life have I just stopped something because it was not perfect? Always in the past that was my stopping point! Well, not anymore!

Stoked by the adrenaline rush I got when I hit that publish button, I decided it was time to add my patterns to Etsy. So I started working on my Etsy Shop. And that is not perfect either, but I am proud to say that it is up and running with 2 patterns I love up there for the world to see and buy! I am so excited about it!

On day 2 I added the second pattern and will keep adding them as they are ready. And by ready I mean a good quality at a fair price and easy for the customer to use. After posting my first one, I put a blurb in the HandiCraftDesigners Facebook group that all 91 of my followers could see! And not 1 like in 24 hours. That will not do. So today, after posting my second pattern on Etsy, I jumped into my personal Facebook page with all 461 “friends” after 3 hours I got 1 share and about 9 likes and 3 loves! So it’s better than yesterday and it will keep on getting better. Because I will keep on getting better.

The funny thing about making that giant first step and taking that leap of faith is once you get past the initial fear and quit worrying about winning awards, or becoming an over night success, or being humiliated for doing it wrong… it is a self-perpetuating rush that pushes you to the next level. Oh, I still scared to death! I still worry about critics! I still know I have a lot to learn! But for the first time in a very long time I am excited to get up in the morning and get on my computer!

I hope you can find your voice too! Take your idea and run with it! Don’t worry about the results, beyond what it takes to tweak the action your taking. Enjoy the things that make you happy and get it out there for the world to enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

